India became independent on August 15, 1947, and one month later, the formation of the Church of South India took place, its inauguration on 27th September 1947 was a historic event - an Indian Church in an Indian - ruled country. The formation of the Church of South India was one of the remarkable events in the History of Christianity.

The CSI Madhya Kerala Diocesan Youth Movement is the first Christian Youth Movement in Asia. The earliest form of the Diocesan Youth Movement was the ‘Annual Anglican Youth League’which was started by Bishop Charles Hope Gill. In 1916, during the time of the centenary celebrations of the Church Missionary Society Activities in Travancore-Cochin, the missionaries felt the need of utilizing the creative and physical potentials of the youth for the betterment of the Church and the society. For this reason, to unite the Youth, the missionaries started the ‘Annual Anglican Youth Conference’. The very aim of the Annual Conference was to invite the youth to serve the church and the society through the love of Jesus Christ and thus lead them to better dedication and commitment  It was in English language that they arranged the sessions of the conference. From 1932 onward  an  annual conference was started in Malayalam for the non English speaking people.

In 1942, the organisation became very strong which was known as ‘Youth League’ and started district level conferences in all the 10 ecclesiastical districts of the diocese. In 1947, a full time general secretary (Mr. John Ramakrishna Pillai) was appointed for the smooth functioning of the organisation. Till this time there were no women participation in the conferences. In 1959, the ‘Yuvatheesamajam’ which was an integral part of the Women’s Fellowship merged with Youth League. In 1978, the name of the organisation was changed from’ Youth League’ to ‘Youth Movement’.

Recent News

-> Diocesan Youth Council (66th Council) is scheduled on 2017 September 21 Thursday at CSI Youth Centre, Changanasserry.

-> Youth Week is from 2017 September 24 to October 01.

->Youth Sunday is on 2017 October 01

* District Councils*

2017 July 16           Kottayam

         July 23           Pallom

         July 23           Ettumanoor 

         July 30           Kumplampoika

         August  06      Adoor

         August  12     Elanthoor

         August  13     Kodukulanji

         August  20     Mallappally

         August  27     Mundakayam

         Sept.    03     Thiruvalla
         Sept.    10      Mavelikara

         Sept.    17      Punnaveli